What You May Not Know About The Season of Lent

The Season of Lent

The Liturgical Season of Lent
  • The Gospels before the 1st week of Lent, i.e from Ash Wednesday to Friday, are constant regardless of the liturgical cycles (Year A, B, or C, Cycle I or II)
  • The Alleluia is not prayed or sung during the Mass from Ash Wednesday until the Easter Vigil.
  • There are 6 Sundays of Lent. The 6th Sunday is called Passion Sunday or Palm Sunday.
  • Holy Week starts on Palm Sunday until the end of Lent, which is before the Mass of the Lord's Supper on Thursday evening.
  • Thursday evening until Holy Saturday (before Easter vigil) is called the Easter Triduum.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

St Andrew's Christmas Prayer

Why Do We Pray?

The 15 Prayers of Saint Bridget of Sweden